What I learned from a teenager on YouTube

Do you learn from others?

The reason I ask this question is, that we tend to look at others, who are doing the same as we are, and think of them as our competition. And technically they might be, but I am also a strong believer in, that if we work together and support each other, and learn from each other, in the end, it benefits all.

Let me give you an example

I run various social media accounts, some are my own personal accounts, and some I run for others, as a part of my job. I see there is a lot of young people, like 18 or younger, who has a lot of success in this field, and of course, after 5 years of studying, and not even feeling at their level (like having 200.000 followers) that could be sort of an annoying tendency. But you know what, I pay them lots of respect. Because they deserve it. First of all, many of them have extremely good work ethics for their age, which I admire. It takes a lot to run a blog, YouTube channel etc. which is successful and demands you post often, and that you constantly come up with new and exciting content.

So I watch a lot of these “kids”, just to see, what is it that they do, you know. And of course, some of them have the benefit of a very young target group, who are very active and comfortable using social media, compared to maybe my target group. But there are still some basics of communication, that can be useful regarding who your target group is. What I look at is how they communicate, both in writing but also in videos. Because there are many trades of communication, that will work with different demographics.

When someone is so good….

I was watching this blogger, and I have to bow down, and say she is really good. I don’t know if she is coached by a manager, or she comes up with everything herself, but her communication skills are very unique. And watching some of her videos, really made me think a lot, and remember some tools Ive learned while studying, but may not have been too good at implementing into my work. So why not learn from her? Does it matter that she is a teenager, with no education on communication or anything related? Not really. And why is that? Because I believe, that I can benefit from learning from all kinds of sources, and this is really my point with this post. I learn from the ones who wrote great Ph.D.’s and the ones who are just natural talents, and when I gather all this, I get my own doing as a final product. I also learn from my own experiences, and probably some other sources of inspiration. I am thinking now, some people might want to slap me on the wrist for saying this, but we really shouldn’t be “too proud” to look at whoever has success, and find inspiration, no matter who they are. Does that make sense?

So why not learn from her? Does it matter that she is a teenager, with no education on communication or anything related? Not really. And why is that? Because I believe, that I can benefit from learning from all kinds of sources, and this is really my point with this post. I learn from the ones who wrote great Ph.D.’s and the ones who are just natural talents, and when I gather all this, I get my own doing as a final product. I also learn from my own experiences, and probably some other sources of inspiration. I am thinking now, some people might want to slap me on the wrist for saying this, but we really shouldn’t be “too proud” to look at whoever has success, and find inspiration, no matter who they are. Does that make sense?

If you are a writer…translate this. Learn from the great writers, learn from the not so great, learn from the young, the old. Don’t be afraid to look at others and admire their work, it doesn’t take anything away from you. It doesn’t make you less unique. And last of all; Acknowledge and empower others as much as you can! Because often we get what we give!

Well, this was just some Sunday thoughts from me. What do you think? Do you agree?

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “What I learned from a teenager on YouTube

Leave a Reply

